Community Forums

Important Notice:

Two sections of this forum are available only to registered customers. In order to receive access to the Customer Forums and ResellerCentral Forums, you must first register on these forums or login to your existing forum account. If you are an existing HostNine customer, be sure to register using the email address on file for your billing profile.

Go Back   HostNine Community Forums > H9 General Forums > Lounge / Off Topic > Web Hosting

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2009, 08:47 PM
Gman Gman is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 17
Default Regular outgoing mail and small email list email blasts being rejected...

A number of our customers are starting to get increased undeliverable messages and tons of returns if they send out an email blast (from Dada mail running in cgi-bin, op out program with small lists in it). We've gone to great lengths at times to double check and some returned mail messages are actually coming back from accounts that are active even though error message will say something like 'unknown user', etc. We have other servers not with HostNine that run Dada mail and a 1-2% undeliverable rate is unusual and high. But for accounts we've migrated to HostNine it seems a 50%+ at times, of emails sent out in an email blast, are coming back undeliverable with various error messages. A couple of them are below. Again, the error message don't always check out. Like 'Unknown user' but we know the user is there or 'No such recipient', etc. when we know it's an accurate address.

Somtimes the error says it's a spam issue or a 'reputation' issue. Although I don't see the HostNine servers we use on Blacklists could it be

1) A 'reputation' issues due to a lot of spamming or something coming off the servers?
2) Could it be that HostNine SMTP servers are setup some way as to not allow email to to be sent out to remote destinations
3) Or some stuff being put in the headers of outgoing email from HostNine servers being flagged and rejected?

We've opened up a ticket and so far only get 'It looks like most of these email accounts don't exist'. There's got to be something else going on.

Any thoughts on what might be going on would be great.

Below are a couple examples of error messages.

Thanks a bunch for any input!!!





This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

felter@warwick.net
SMTP error from remote mail server after RCPT TO:<felter@warwick.net>:
host mail.warwick.net [204.255.24.103]: 550-Your message was rejected by this user and was not delivered.
550-Reason: This system uses BMS to check your IP address reputation, and was rejected by the user
550-Protection provided by: MagicMail version 1.1.1 (LinuxMagic Inc - MagicMail Email Server)
550-For more information, please visit the URL:
550-http://www.linuxmagic.com/power_of_ip_reputation.html
550 or contact your ISP or mail server operator.

------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------

Return-path: <chris@c2gmedia.com>
Received: from berry by node43.myserverhosts.com with local (Exim 4.69)
(envelope-from <chris@c2gmedia.com>)
id 1LQ1vk-0007Ma-E4
for felter@warwick.net; Thu, 22 Jan 2009 09:57:20 -0600
Date: Thu, 22 Jan 2009 09:57:20 -0600





--- On Thu, 1/22/09, Mail Delivery System <Mailer-Daemon@node43.myserverhosts.com> wrote:
From: Mail Delivery System <Mailer-Daemon@node43.myserverhosts.com>
Subject: Mail delivery failed: returning message to sender
To: carol@blackberryrose.com
Date: Thursday, January 22, 2009, 6:06 PM
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

revb@netpenny.net
SMTP error from remote mail server after RCPT TO:<revb@netpenny.net>:
host mx2.wmis.net [216.109.194.82]: 550 5.1.1 <revb@netpenny.net>:
Recipient address rejected: User unknown in relay recipient table

------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------




This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

suzyfarhat@comcast.com
SMTP error from remote mail server after RCPT TO:<suzyfarhat@comcast.com>:
host mx3.comcast.com [24.40.8.248]: 550 Mailbox unavailable or access denied - <suzyfarhat@comcast.com>

------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------

Return-path: <chris@c2gmedia.com>
Received: from berry by node43.myserverhosts.com with local (Exim 4.69)
(envelope-from <chris@c2gmedia.com>)
id 1LQ29c-0000Bp-9F
for suzyfarhat@comcast.com; Thu, 22 Jan 2009 10:11:40 -0600
Date: Thu, 22 Jan 2009 10:11:40 -0600
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2009, 12:16 PM
colt45 colt45 is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Haleiwa, Hawaii
Posts: 213
Default

Could be because

Server Limits
25% cpu and or memory for 3 minutes.
Combined 5% CPU & RAM over 24 hours.
250 email limit per domain per hour.
50 concurrent database connections at one time.
Apache threads to be open no longer then 999 seconds.
Php upload limit of 15 megs.
Max php session time of 300 seconds or less.
Limits are subject to change at anytime.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-29-2009, 07:54 PM
Gene's Avatar
Gene Gene is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 351
Default

This message
Quote:
Recipient address rejected: User unknown in relay recipient table
looks like a QMAIL server reply to an attempt to relay through it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2009, 11:09 PM
jmx jmx is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Question

I am starting a new marketing company which runs from one of my domains (I’m a reseller).
I will be sending bulk e-mail, in order to reach potential customers inside our lists.
(The lists have been gathered through the work on our sites)

In the first moment that I contracted H9 services, I have a trouble regarding spam, it was caused by robots that took control of my site.

Now a like to know which e-mail power I can use without being considered as spam.

Can I have a greater email capacity because I am reseller?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2009, 12:35 AM
kobra kobra is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 595
Default

Quote:
I am starting a new marketing company which runs from one of my domains .
I will be sending bulk e-mail, in order to reach potential customers inside our lists.
For email marketing, one should really use a service like MailChimp
__________________
Get Your Business Found
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mail Server Rejected josephp Reseller Hosting 2 05-08-2008 04:59 PM
Email rejected... looking for answers Dukerev Reseller Hosting 2 04-19-2008 04:36 PM
Outgoing mail from Webmail tagged as spam Dukerev Web Hosting 0 11-02-2007 09:35 AM
Is H9 ever going to fix the server rejected email issues ? gspark Shared Web Hosting 5 10-17-2007 09:19 PM
outgoing mail problem idwebca Web Hosting 0 01-26-2007 05:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Host Nine

Our mission began in 2006. Thousands of awesome clients later, we are now one of the most popular hosters in the world.
Most of this is because of our fantastic support. Join us, you'll be glad you did - that's a given.