Community Forums

Important Notice:

Two sections of this forum are available only to registered customers. In order to receive access to the Customer Forums and ResellerCentral Forums, you must first register on these forums or login to your existing forum account. If you are an existing HostNine customer, be sure to register using the email address on file for your billing profile.

Go Back   HostNine Community Forums > H9 General Forums > Lounge / Off Topic > General

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2008, 09:55 PM
Gene's Avatar
Gene Gene is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 351
Default More real looking spam fakes

Here is another good looking fake message. The underlying URL is NOT what is displayed in the message. I have to admire the fact it looks real and wonder how many people fall for it.

============================
From: "eNomCentral Support" <info2@enom.com>
To: dictionary name @ sample.org removed
Subject: Warning: Inaccurate whois information.

Dear user,

On Fri, 31 Oct 2008 15:18:57 -0500 we received a third party complaint of invalid domain contact information in the Whois database for this domain Whenever we receive a complaint, we are required by ICANN regulations to initiate an investigation as to whether the contact data displaying in the Whois database is valid data or not. If we find that there is invalid or missing data, we contact both the registrant and the account holder and inform them to update the information.

The contact information for the domain which displayed in the Whois database was indeed invalid. On Fri, 31 Oct 2008 15:18:57 -0500 we sent a notice to you at the admin/tech contact email address and the account email address informing you of invalid data in breach of the domain registration agreement and advising you to update the information or risk cancellation of the domain. The contact information was not updated within the specified period of time and we canceled the domain. The domain has subsequently been purchased by another party. You will need to contact them for any further inquiries regarding the domain.

PLEASE VERIFY YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION - http://www.enom.com

If you find any invalid contact information for this domain, please respond to this email with evidence of the specific contact information you have found to be invalid on the Whois record for the domain name. Examples would be a bounced email or returned postal mail. If you have a bounced email, please attach or forward with your reply or in the case of returned postal mail, scan the returned letter and attach to your email reply or please send it to:

Attn: Domain Services 14455 N Hayden Rd Suite 219 Scottsdale, AZ 85260

LINK TO CHANGE INFORMATION - http://www.enom.com

Thank you,
Domain Services

[IncidentID:18590]
===================

The underlying link is really:
Code:
 <a href=3D"http://www.enom.com.ssl78.biz">http://www.enom.com</a>
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2008, 10:38 PM
H9Jose
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Jesus, What's next?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2008, 08:51 AM
kobra kobra is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 595
Default

Gene,

ENOM is aware of this plishing email and one can only suppose that your domains could be transferred away from your control if they gain access
__________________
Get Your Business Found
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2008, 10:07 AM
Gene's Avatar
Gene Gene is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 351
Default

Now if only that nice guy that promised to send me $10 million if I gave him all my personal info would come through I would be all set.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-28-2008, 03:59 PM
lonestar lonestar is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Default

Also, watch out for an email from the "FBI" it claims that it has verified you can submit all your info to some nigerian guy with some inheritance or some other thing...and then you get the email from the nigerian. The email is something like fbi@aol.com or something like that. Just so everyone knows, the FBI doesn't use aol as their email provider lol.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2009, 03:16 AM
forelver8013 forelver8013 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Exclamation a

potiskanje, tako lepo temo dobro delovno mesto
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Softlayer Migration, more spam or less spam? idwebca Reseller Hosting 2 04-19-2010 07:20 AM
affiliate program .. Real or scam ? linuxboy Feedback & Suggestions 2 04-18-2008 04:06 PM
real world examples mossimo Customer Testimonials 0 05-25-2007 10:54 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Host Nine

Our mission began in 2006. Thousands of awesome clients later, we are now one of the most popular hosters in the world.
Most of this is because of our fantastic support. Join us, you'll be glad you did - that's a given.