Community Forums

Important Notice:

Two sections of this forum are available only to registered customers. In order to receive access to the Customer Forums and ResellerCentral Forums, you must first register on these forums or login to your existing forum account. If you are an existing HostNine customer, be sure to register using the email address on file for your billing profile.

Go Back   HostNine Community Forums > H9 General Forums > Lounge / Off Topic > General

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2008, 12:37 PM
Gene's Avatar
Gene Gene is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 351
Default Your internet access is going to get suspended

The current "important message" - do they really think I am going to open that zip file?

================================
Your internet access is going to get suspended

The Internet Service Provider Consorcium was made to protect the rights of software authors, artists.
We conduct regular wiretapping on our networks, to monitor criminal acts.

We are aware of your illegal activities on the internet wich were originating from

You can check the report of your activities in the past 6 month that we have attached. We strongly advise you to stop your activities regarding the illegal downloading of copyrighted material of your internet access will be suspended.

Sincerely
ICS Monitoring Team
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2008, 12:41 PM
Gene's Avatar
Gene Gene is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 351
Default

Just to clarify - that was NOT from H9, just from one of the more convincing spambots.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2008, 09:51 PM
H9Jose
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

They're monitoring everything you do! lol
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2008, 05:58 PM
kobra kobra is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 595
Default

Gene,

I also received more than one of these emails and to email addresses not associated with online anything....Suspect that this is a phishing email and not sure for what purpose as I did not open the .zip....

They claim to be ICS Monitoring Team but the email is from ortiz@positivenews.net, and whois for this reveals the owner to be mrp@positivenews.net

So i replied to mrp@positivenews.net cc'd the Cary, Illionis Police department and filed complaints with the 2 Gov agencies that I know of.

If you opened the zip - I would run a complete scan of the PC that you did this from as there is a reason they are sending this in hopes of something

Quote:
I am forwarding this phishing email that was sent from ortiz@positivenews.net claiming to be associated with ICS Monitoring Team.

I am also forwarding this to the local authorities in Cary, Illinois and filing this with cybercrime.gov and ic3.gov the internet fraud complaint center.

As the header information is indicating that this emminated from your domain and mail server if you are not responsible I suggest that you collect your logs to substantiate this fact.
__________________
Get Your Business Found
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2008, 08:39 PM
Gene's Avatar
Gene Gene is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 351
Default

I never open the zip files on those things, ever!. They keep comming and now Norton is tagging them as having a Trojan Horse.

Mine come from different locations.

from the headers of the latest:
From: "Monitoring Team" <halockala@optonline.net>
User-Agent: Thunderbird 2.0.0.12 (Windows/20080213)
Received: from [118.68.85.214] (helo=adsl-dynamic-pool-xxx.hcm.fpt.vn)


User-Agent: Thunderbird is common to all of them.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2008, 07:53 AM
kobra kobra is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 595
Default

Good policy!!
__________________
Get Your Business Found
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSH access. ronh Reseller Hosting 10 04-08-2009 02:24 PM
whm access key or api key bandituk Reseller Hosting 2 08-09-2008 03:39 PM
Macros & Access christopherdowns General 0 09-20-2007 06:18 PM
Internet Too fast? meltingcube General 1 07-25-2007 02:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Host Nine

Our mission began in 2006. Thousands of awesome clients later, we are now one of the most popular hosters in the world.
Most of this is because of our fantastic support. Join us, you'll be glad you did - that's a given.